Dawn Chorus (Tuesday morning)

Tuesday mornings, 9.30am to 11am.
The Town Hall, Kendal
This is a group in Kendal that started September 2015 and we call the Dawn Chorus (despite it starting well after dawn!).

The intention is to start your Tuesday in the way that perhaps we should start every day – with a blooming good sing!

As always with my sessions there are no auditions, there’s no need to read music and there’s no performing or solos. For this group, you can just turn up and there’s no need to commit to coming to sessions regularly as you can just drop in to as many as you like.

(I’m very grateful to the wonderful Pip Wright, of Penzance for the idea and the name as she runs something very similar way down there in the South West and you can visit that too when you’re there – in The Tremenheere Sculpture Gardens with an excellent cafe!).

We’ll be learning short, easier, satisfying songs and working on some more challenging ones all just for the sake of the singing.

We learn songs entirely by ear (“repeat after me”!) so there’s no need to read music and all of it’s “a capella” which just means we don’t use instruments or backing tracks and sing unaccompanied. Songs are from a wide variety of singing traditions and sources but all are wonderful to sing in glorious harmony.

It costs £7 a time and you just pay on the door. But we really don’t want anyone to miss out because of money worries so if, for you, that is more than you can afford, then just pay what you can.

​After the session, you’re very welcome to come down to Comida Food (on Highgate) for a brew and a natter.

We won’t always be using the same room so do check the dates here and then follow the signs from the Town Hall entrance on a Tuesday morning:-

PLEASE do check the dates carefully – they do not always fit with school terms!

Next term begins . . .

  • Tuesday 7th January
  • Tuesday 14th January
  • Tuesday 21st January
  • Tuesday 28th January
  • Tuesday 4th February
  • Tuesday 11th February
  • Tuesday 18th February
  • Tuesday 25th February
  • Tuesday 3rd March
  • Tuesday 10th March
  • Tuesday 17th March
  • Tuesday 24th March

The Town Hall is being refurbished from April/May until November/December.
We are TEMPORARILY MOVING HOME

Tuesdays in Spring Term

  • Tuesday 21st April (at the Parish Centre on New Road)
  • Tuesday 28th April (at the Parish Centre on New Road)
  • Tuesday 5th May (at the Parish Centre on New Road)
  • Tuesday 12th May (at the Parish Centre on New Road)
  • Tuesday 19th May (at the Parish Centre on New Road)

Then there is a May/June holiday for us.

  • Tuesday 16th June (at the Parish Centre on New Road)
  • Tuesday 23rd June (at the Parish Centre on New Road)
  • Tuesday 30th June (at the Parish Centre on New Road)
  • Tuesday 7th July (at the Parish Centre on New Road)
  • Tuesday 14th July (at the Parish Centre on New Road)
  • Tuesday 21st July (at the Parish Centre on New Road) 
  • Tuesday 28th July (at the Parish Centre on New Road)

There is then an August/September holiday for us.

  • Tuesday 22nd September (at the Parish Centre on New Road)
  • Tuesday 29th September (at the Parish Centre on New Road)
  • Tuesday 6th October (at the Parish Centre on New Road)
  • Tuesday 13th October (at the Parish Centre on New Road)
  • Tuesday 20th October (at the Parish Centre on New Road)

We’re then having a half term break

  • Tuesday 3rd November (at the Parish Centre on New Road)
  • Tuesday 10th November (at the Parish Centre on New Road)
  • Tuesday 17th November (at the Parish Centre on New Road)
  • Tuesday 24th November (at the Parish Centre on New Road)
  • Tuesday 1st December (at the Parish Centre on New Road)
  • Tuesday 8th December (at the Parish Centre on New Road)

Further dates will be added here for 2021 soon. We assume we’ll be back in the Town Hall by then.

No need to book but just click here to email me if you have any queries.