Growing Singing Kendal (Monday evening)

https://youtu.be/NDG54rNCZsg

Monday Evenings

7.15pm to 8.30pm ish (until end March then reverts to 7pm-8.15pm) (weekly, see term dates below)

Currently on Zoom on Monday evenings.  We do about an hour of singing, bit of socialising and come back to singing to finish. It’s all very informal!

This group’s been running in Kendal since 2011 and always welcomes new voices.

Come along to a taster session for free just to see if it’s your kind of thing.

There are no auditions, no solos and you don’t have to read music at all.

On Zoom we’re usually around 10-20 singers of varying abilities from nervous beginners to much more experienced.  We learn songs entirely by ear (“repeat after me”!) and all of it’s “a capella” which just means we don’t use instruments or backing tracks and instead sing unaccompanied in the room. On Zoom you sing along to backing tracks I’ve prepared in advance so that you get the sense of singing with others but can’t be heard by anyone. It can be quite a liberating experience! Songs are from a wide variety of singing traditions and sources but all are wonderful to sing in glorious harmony.

Currently this group entirely on Zoom and is completely “drop in”. So you don’t have to attend every session or commit to anything.

Under normal circumstances the sessions are in the Town Hall and are 2 hours and the cost works out at about £7 a session, but we know how difficult things are for everyone just now and people are just paying what they can when they can, so don’t let the cost stop you coming. We really don’t want anyone to miss out because of money worries so if, for you, that is more than you can afford, then just pay what you can. Email me to join the mailing list for this group and I’ll send you the Zoom links. 

Dates for the coming sessions are:-

  • Monday 11th January (7.15pm start)
  • Monday 18th January (7.15pm start)
  • Monday 25th January (7.15pm start)
  • Monday 1st February (7.15pm start)
  • Monday 8th February (7.15pm start)
  • (we’re taking a break on Monday 15th Feb)
  • Monday 22nd February (7.15pm start)
  • Monday 1st March (7.15pm start)
  • Monday 8th March (7.15pm start)
  • Monday 15th March (7.15pm start)
  • Monday 22nd March (7.15pm start)
  • Monday 29th March (7.15pm start)

I’ll advertise the following term dates for 2021 when ready. It’s so hard to predict when we might get back to singing together “in real life” rather than on Zoom. Keep in touch and we’ll all find out together. The plan is this:

  • Monday 12th April (7pm start from now on)
  • Monday 19th April
  • Monday 26th April
  • Monday 3rd May
  • Monday 10th May
  • Monday 17th May 

Then I’m planning to take a break. Not sure what we’ll be doing with it yet! but a break nonetheless. Planning to continue from Monday June 21st. 

I’ll advertise the following term dates as soon as I have them planned.

Just click here to send me an email if you have any queries